Tear-down and Painting

So I went ahead and dismantled everything, cleaned the dirt off, and taped everything to get ready for paint.

The tape on the sides is to keep the paint from covering the sides, I want to keep that brown ;).

The tape on the sides is to keep the paint from covering the sides, I want to keep that brown.

I started painting yesterday night…Big mistake. It’s really humid outside during the night and morning so when the paint dried it absorbed water and got kinda sticky. Also, the tape that I bought wasn’t that good. It let the paint bleed through and made the lines look really messy. While I was painting the white stripes on the board I had paper guarding the blue section. Little did I know that the blue hadn’t dried yet so the paper stuck to the blue making big nasty blotchy circles. I’m going to let the board bake out in the sun for a few days if I can(it has been really rainy lately) and then repaint it with better tape .

You can see where the paint bleed through at. It looks really bad.

You can see where the paint bleed through at. It looks really bad.

Paint bleed through + blotchy paper spots = repaint.

Paint bleed through + blotchy paper spots = repaint.

I thought it would cool to have some two-tone wheels on my board so I painted the outer rim of my white wheels blue. If I had better tape it would have turned out better. I am buying new 90mm wheels anyway when I start buying parts so, what the heck I painted them.

The paint kind of peeled off with the tape a little bit. and some went through the tape onto the bottom of the wheel but that will rub off on my next ride.

The paint kind of peeled off with the tape a little bit. and some went through the tape onto the bottom of the wheel but that will rub off on my next ride.

The backs of the wheels actually look a lot better than the fronts. I even thought about putting the on backwards so it would look better.

The backs of the wheels actually look a lot better than the fronts. I even thought about putting the on backwards so it would look better.

I actually thought it turned out pretty good well, better than I expected it to. I didnt really have high hopes for spray painting wheels.

I actually thought it turned out pretty good well, better than I expected it to. I didnt really have high hopes for spray painting wheels.

Overall I think I did a decent job for my first time ever painting anything. So, good job — but not good enough…….

Leave a Reply

