Motorizing it!!! (Part 3)

The chain tensioner I built was absolute garbage so I took that off completely and moved the motor forward to give me the most tension I possibly could. It was just barely enough to keep the belt on track and run. I rode for about a mile and then the batteries died on me. I had two 11.1 v (3s) Li-PO batteries wired in series with 2450 mah. I brought the batteries in to charge and on my lcd screen it said:  Battery Check…
LOW VOLTAGE

I had discharged the Li-PO batteries too much and basically ruined them. I then decided to switch to Ni-MH batteries instead because of reliability and cost. Discharging your batteries too low can be avoided by using a low voltage cut-off module wired in with your batteries but I just decided to completely switch over. Li-PO batteries don’t have to be discharged all the way before they are charged again and they give you higher discharge rates which in turn gives you faster acceleration but they require a lot of maintenance (monitoring voltage levels of the cells and storage charging) that I am not willing to give. Ni-MH batteries are just more durable so in my opinion that is the way to go.

Custom 18 cell battery pack made from batteries plus.

Custom 18 cell battery pack made from batteries plus.

This pack puts out 21.6 volts average at 3.4 amps. After receiving my new battery pack and cycling  it (discharge then charge) on my charger I threw the components in my enclosure from my Version 1 electric skateboard I did a while ago.

Temporary Electronics Enclosure
That worked for the time being. I went about 18-19 mph top speed ( I want to go FASTER!!!) and it was extremely fun. I’ll upload a video of me and my friend riding the board around. When we came back after riding the motor was loose and the motor was bent back towards the trucks. That is when I decided it would be best to try to weld a piece of metal from the front of the motor mount to the trucks to try to keep it from bending.

Motor Mout w/ Brace (side) Motor Mount w/ Brace (45) Motor Mount w/ Brace (Top)

This worked great for the next couple of rides but the motor kept coming loose and shaking the mount around making the belt slip the brace that I put on eventually broke where I welded it. I can just re-weld it back on but that doesn’t solve the issue of the motor coming loose. My street isnt freshly paved so its pretty bumpy with rocks and everything. The bolts with the split lock washers under them were vibrating loose because the zinc plated teeth on the washer couldn’t bite into the carbon steel. After doing some research I came across Nord-Lock vibration proof washers and after watching some vibration testing videos I was convinced that these were the washers I needed. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mgwmuZuJ02I (Demo Video of Washers).

Nord-Lock Washer

I ordered a few of these and they should be coming in today or tomorrow but I figured why should I just sit on butt and wait for them to come in if I am not even finished with the other aspects of the board yet. I started designing an enclosure to go on the bottom of the board  so I wouldn’t have a bucket of wires sitting next to my feet. I built it out of cardboard then paper mache to stiffen it up a bit. I painted it all black and taped it to the board.

I built the enclosure around the electronics to ensure that everything would fit.

I built the enclosure around the electronics to ensure that everything would fit.

 

I cut out a hole for the esc fan.

I cut out a hole for the esc fan.

The wire for the motor comes through a hole right here in the back

The wire for the motor comes through a hole right here in the back

The inside of the enclosure before painting

The inside of the enclosure before painting

The outside of the enclosure before paint.

The outside of the enclosure before paint.

The fan and capacitors sit snug inside of the hole I cut out for it

The fan and capacitors sit snug inside of the hole I cut out for it

All the components fit snug inside of the Enclosure.

All the components fit snug inside of the Enclosure.

The coat of white paint was because I wanted to do a blue and white enclosure.

The coat of white paint was because I wanted to do a blue and white enclosure.

Enclosure in Painting (Outside)

Not perfect but....it works.

Not perfect but….it works.

Enclosure after painting

Duct tape...What can't you use it for?

Duct tape…What can’t you use it for?

The reason I duct taped it to the board instead of using screws is because I really don’t like this enclosure it is kind of ugly. So I am going to make another one that looks decent enough to show off to people. Here are some extra pictures of the board with the enclosure.

This is the transmitter I have been using. I need to buy a new one.

This is the transmitter I have been using. I need to buy a new one.

You can kind of see how much room I have from the ground.

You can kind of see how much room I have from the ground.

You can kind of see the ground clearance I have with the motor mount.

You can kind of see the ground clearance I have with the motor mount.

2 responses to “Motorizing it!!! (Part 3)

  1. How are the Ni-MH batteries holding up for you? What is the run time/how far will it take you? Where did you find them? I think I did the same thing to my LiPo battery because I also get the low-voltage error message on my charger. Boosted boards and evolve and some other e-board companies use lithium ion batteries so I was thinking of using those as well but not sure where to find them and exactly what I need. Lemme know what you think.

    P.S. Nice board! I find it pretty neat that you welded the mount yourself. I did it the easy way and bought the holey trucks and mount that AlienDrive Systems sells.

    • The batteries are holding up great actually. I had them custom made at batteries plus. I asked for a small battery and they suggested 3.4 amp cells. It was one of the smallest so it will only take you about 5-6 miles. I plan on purchasing a larger pack for it in the future.
      Thanks it looks messy in the pictures but ill be posting some pictures of it after painting. I am actually working on a new 2wd mount that should be cheap, efficient , and easy to install.

Leave a Reply

