Motorizing it!! (Part 2)

I drilled holes through the bottom of the truck and bolted a piece of thin steel to it. Then, I bent the piece of steel around the truck. Next, I made a template for the motor mounting plate and used that to make a steel mounting plate. I cut out a long rectangle and cut a half circle out in the back. Finally, I welded the mounting plate to the piece of steel I had bolted to the truck. Everything held together tightly for the most part. It does rattle a little when you drive it because of the piece bolted to the truck kind of bounces when you ride over semi-rough terrain.

PICTURES:

You can see the area in which the bolt goes through the truck.

You can see the area in which the bolt goes through the truck.

You can see more of how the motor was mounted in this picture.

You can see more of how the motor was mounted in this picture.

It's really wobbly. Whenever the motor gets up to its top speed it makes the belt fall off the pulley.

This is the belt tensioner I made and it’s                              really wobbly. Whenever the motor gets up to its top speed it makes the belt fall off the pulley.

TESTING:

Despite the boards flaws I decided to ride it across a slightly downhill path. It was OK. The tensioner didn’t really hold the belt any so it just kept slipping. I accelerated slightly, a little more than if I were ride without the motor. I tried to ride it on the same path in the opposite direction and it couldn’t handle it. My solution is to get a smaller belt and tighten it as much as possible by repositioning the motor. The only reason I used the tensioner is because the belt that I ordered was too long to begin with.

Also, while I was testing the board there was A LOT of interference with the transmitter. I was using a standard 2.4ghz rc car transmitter and receiver. I sat the transmitter down and it kept going back and forth repeatedly. I think a wired controller is going to be the way to go from here for safety.

TO DO LIST:

-Buy and install new shorter belt.

-Make electronics enclosure.

-Make a wired esc controller out of a servo tester and wii nunchuck.

-Paint

10 responses to “Motorizing it!! (Part 2)

  1. there is a set screw on the small pulley. which is why I suggested aluminum over plastic. The set screw in combination with some lock-tight epoxy should do the trick. Just make sure its the right kind of lock-tight,

Leave a Reply

